nomadgerman.blogg.se

Create boot partition my passport ultra
Create boot partition my passport ultra







create boot partition my passport ultra
  1. #Create boot partition my passport ultra manual
  2. #Create boot partition my passport ultra full
  3. #Create boot partition my passport ultra Pc

Wish somebody could help me figure out how i can delay the timing so that the BIOS gets time to recognise the external HDD, so that it doesn't jump (boot from) for the internal HDD, and instead boots from the 1TB external HDD. So the problem was not with the making of the bootable HDD, it was with the timing of the external HDD not being recognised.

create boot partition my passport ultra

#Create boot partition my passport ultra full

So there has been no problem neither when the partition was full 930GB, nor now when the 2 partitions are of 50GB(FAT32) and 880GB(NTFS). There was no problem after the partitioning. So the first Active partiton with the bootable MIUSB is 50 GB (FAT32), and second partition is 880GB(NTFS). Next i used Partition Wizard from the pendrive and repartitioned the 1TB, so that the bootable MIUSB partition is only 50GB, and the rest 880GB is a second logical partition NTFS. Right now i don't have my internal HDD connected, it's only my external 1 TB HDD. The moment i pressed enter the MIUSB (menu.lst) splash screen appeared and here i am now inside the Linux Mint OS, firefox web browser which is lying in my 1 TB external HDD. So i just pressed enter as the 1TB external HDD was already connected at the time of restarting the PC. Please put bootable device and press enter". The Intel Boot Agent exited and a warning came on saying that "No bootable device is present.

#Create boot partition my passport ultra Pc

Next shutdown PC, removed internal HDD and restarted PC with only 1TB external USB HDD connected.

#Create boot partition my passport ultra manual

Than went on to use the "Mission Impossible USB" manual procedures and setup WInXP setup, and some of the other iso's like Linux Mint,Ubuntu, AVG, Partiton Wizard, Hiren, UBCD. I first made a full 930GB FAT32 partition using the program provided in the MIUSB manual (WINToUSB.exe file). Thanxs to Chaos_Cubed suggestion and Wonko the Sane reteiration, the reason that the 1 TB was not booting was with the timing problem. P.S.: A timing problem as Chaos_Cubed pointed out is quite possible, the drive should be powered ON before booting the PC or you may want to boot the PC, enter the BIOS, do something in it and exit it (this should allow for the timeing) or you could (if you have this option available) try booting using the Fn key usually F12 that allows to change boot order. You should have something like "USB" or "USB first".Īnother option USB legacy: EnabledThis may create a conflict, for experimenting you may try disabling it, though I don't think it's anymore the case (it used to be on very old motherboards) Now chosen Hardisk, next CDROMThis is strange, it doesn't look like the Intel guide: If you don't see the above, try changing settings in BIOS and try again, this oldish page (FAQ #10) may give you some ideas:Īnother option Boot USB order. You should normally see an error like "missing NTLDR" or "missing BOOTMGR". WHICH OS are you running? I mean either of:Ĭreate with Disk Management on the 1 TB hard disk one single partition, FAT16, around 1 Gb in size, make it Primary and Active. You are just trying to make a USB hard disk bootable, at the moment. Most tutorials and programs have been developed for USB sticks, you DO NOT need ANY of them for a hard disk.ĭO NOT use ANY other app but the standard Disk Management.

create boot partition my passport ultra

Will try what your'll have said and post it here.thanxs Now chosen Hardisk, next CDROMĭo i have to adjust any thing here in these options.

create boot partition my passport ultra

I also have in my BIOS (Intel DG33 FB motherboard), the optionĪnother option Boot USB order. Now will try both your methods to check if it works. The same procedure for the 1TB HDD didnt work. I tried making the "Mission Impossible USB" method following the manual but nothing happened (i couldnt get it to boot). So maybe something is going wrong with my booting procedure. Booting i don't know, as when i try to boot it just doesnt show anything, meaning it goes to the next boot device which is my internal HDD. Have you problems in partitioning/formatting/making bootable that hard disk or not?I have been able to format the 1TB HDD (ntfs, fat 32) without any problem. I am going to try both the methods which your'll have provided to see if i can get to boot. Thank You maanu and Wonko The Sane for such a quick reply.









Create boot partition my passport ultra